Schubert Center for Child Studies

Home / About Us / Faculty, Staff and Students

Faculty, Staff and Students



Name Title Email Phone
Gabriella Celeste Policy Director, Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Department of Anthropology, and Co-Director of the Childhood Studies Minor 216.368.5314
Jill Korbin Associate Dean, and Lucy Adams Leffingwell Professor; Director of the Schubert Center for Child Studies 216.368.4413


Name Title Email Phone
Samantha Hill Assistant Director 216.368.0540



Name Title Email
Kelley Kampman  Graduate Student Assistant
Sarah Miller-Fellows  Graduate Student Assistant
Danielle Turner  Undergraduate Student Assistant



Korbin Headshot

Jill Korbin, PhD, Director of the Schubert Center, is the Lucy Adams Leffingwell Professor in the Department of Anthropology, Associate Dean in the College of Arts and Sciences, Adjunct Professor in the Jack Joseph and Morton Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences,, and Co-Director of the Childhood Studies Program. Her research areas include culture and human development, cultural, medical and psychological anthropology, and the effects of context on child maltreatment and child well-being. Her awards include the Margaret Mead Award (1986) from the American Anthropological Association and the Society for Applied Anthropology; a Congressional Science Fellowship (1985-86) through the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the Society for Research in Child Development; and the Wittke Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching at Case Western Reserve University. Korbin served on the National Research Council’s Panel on Research on Child Abuse and Neglect, and is currently a member of the Board of ChildFund International. Korbin has published on culture and child maltreatment, including her edited book, Child Abuse and Neglect: Cross-Cultural Perspectives (1981, University of California Press). She co-edited the five volume Handbook of Child Well-Being. Theories, Methods and Policies in Global Perspective (2014 with Asher Ben-Arieh, Ferran Casas and Ivar Frones, Springer Publishers), C. Henry Kempe: A 50 Year Legacy to the Field of Child Abuse and Neglect (2013 with Richard Krugman, Springer Publishers), and the Handbook of Child Maltreatment (2014 with Richard Krugman, Springer Publishers).


Gabriella Celeste, JD, Policy Director, is Co-Director of the Childhood Studies Program and an Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Department of Anthropology. She works to build partnerships that promote effective public policy and practice for the well-being of children and adolescents. Gabriella also teaches an undergraduate child policy curriculum, supervises Schubert’s child policy externship program and conducts trainings and presentations on various topics related to child well-being and developmentally-informed policies and practices. She has worked extensively with vulnerable children in various nonprofit and administrative roles, both directly and conducting applied research, evaluation and technical assistance for foundations, nonprofit and government agencies. Gabriella co-founded the Juvenile Justice Project of Louisiana in 1997 and has been instrumental in juvenile justice policy reform in Ohio. She was reappointed to the Ohio Public Defender Commission by Governor Kasich in 2015 and currently sits on the Board of Directors for Magnolia Clubhouse, the Youth Risk Behavior Survey Community Advisory Board and the Cuyahoga County “Defending Childhood” Governing Board. She received her B.S. from Northwestern University and J.D. from the University of Michigan Law School and lives with her husband and two sons in Shaker Heights, Ohio.

Kelley Kampman, MA, is a graduate research assistant and current PhD student in the department of anthropology. Her research interests center around the subjective experience of drug use and drug dependence. Her dissertation project focuses on how pregnant, opiate-addicted women experience, navigate, and make sense of drug treatment before and after birth. She has also conducted research on client opinions and service utilization of the Free Clinic of Greater Cleveland’s syringe exchange program.

Sarah Miller-Fellows, MA, MPH, is a graduate research assistant and current PhD candidate in the department of anthropology. Her dissertation research examines the intersections of reproduction, early childcare, and genetic disorders among the Ohio Amish. She has also conducted research on childhood parasitic infections and adult reproduction in Kenya and mental health services utilization among the Ohio Amish.

Danielle Turner is a research assistant and recent graduate of Case Western Reserve University (Dec 2015), where she received a BA in Political Science and Anthropology with a concentration in Medical Anthropology. She is interested in working to balance the scale and give children an equitable chance at life. Danielle enjoys traveling, particularly places where she can practice her Spanish.